When the Civil Service Long Service awards were handed out at Jamaica House on November 18, 2009, six proud members of the Ministry of Transport and Works were among them.

These were Mr. Paul Clemetson, Director of the Island Traffic Authority (ITA), Mrs. Yvonne Robinson Executive Secretary to the PFO, Ms. Marcia Simpson, Executive Secretary in the Directorate of Technical Services along with Ms. Densie Blair, Mrs. Bernetta Henry and Mr. Douglas Marshall, all of the Island Traffic Authority. Each of these persons has worked within the Civil Service for over twenty-five years and has given of their time and talents unstintingly during that time.

Commenting on the work of the awardees, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Transport and Works, Dr. Alwin Hales said that he was proud of the unwavering service given to the Ministry by these employees. “They have served the Ministry and the wider public service well and I think the long service award they have received is a fitting testament to that service.” He noted that their collective experience can only work to the benefit of the Ministry.

The Civil Service Long Service Awards was part of the Civil Service Week activities which ran from November 15-21. Other activities to commemorate the week were:

Church Service at the Open Bible Standard Churches of Jamaica

1.     Launch of Civil Service Week and Expo at Emancipation Park

2.     Quiz competition among High Schools

3.     Brain Games Competition and a

4.     National Church Service at the North Street Seventh-day Adventist Church on Saturday, November 21.

Hearties congratulations to the long service awardees from the Ministry of Transport and Works.